The Back Room
102 Norfolk Street
New York, NY 10002
The Back Room is one of only two speakeasies in New York City that operated during Prohibition and is still in existence today. It is a timeless example of the underbelly of New York past. The original 1920’s speakeasy, known simply as “The Back of Ratner’s,” played host to many theater and movie actors of the “Roaring Twenties,” as well as famous gangsters of the era. These gangsters included Bugsy Siegel, Lucky Luciano and Meyer Lansky. They were known to use the space for “business meetings.”
Search for a specific location / place tag / category or query in the Lower East Side, NY:
Share this page
Copyright © Lower East Side. All Rights Reserved.